Stage 4

Entering Year 7 marks the beginning of High School. At SMCS, we believe that a solid grounding in all areas of study is critical in ensuring student growth. We follow and deliver NSW BOS curriculum.

Board of Studies and Key Learning Areas

The New South Wales Board of Studies controls the provision of curriculum in all schools in NSW. The Board develops courses and distributes syllabuses to New South Wales schools. A number of subjects that are related in some way are grouped together into Key Learning Areas (KLA).

There are eight KLAs in NSW Schools.  These are:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Human Society and its Environment (HSIE) –  History, Geography/Civics, and Commercial Studies
  • Languages Other Than English (LOTE)
  • Creative and Performing Arts (CAPA) –  Music, Visual Arts and Drama
  • Technological and Applied Studies (TAS)
  • Personal Development/Health/Physical Education (PD/H/PE)

The following courses are delivered at SMCS in stage 4.

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • History
  • Geography
  • Technology Mandatory (Wood, Graphics, Textiles)
  • LOTE (Indonesian)
  • Music
  • Visula Arts